(613) 748-5606



CIBA National Championship Heading to Durham College This Fall

OSHAWA – Durham College is getting ready to welcome some of the top baseball talent in the country as the 2009 Canadian Intercollegiate Baseball Association (CIBA) National Championship will be taking place in Oshawa, Ontario from October 23-25, 2009.

The three day championship will feature the top six teams in Canada battling it out for the national title. This will be Durham’s first time hosting the national event, which began taking place annually in 1995.

“We are very excited to host such a great event that features the top baseball teams in Canada”, commented Durham College Athletic Director Ken Babcock. “With a national title on the line, teams will be leaving it all on the field making for some exciting action for fans to enjoy. As it is our first time hosting the event, it will be a great opportunity to showcase our campus, hospitality and the Durham Region to the rest of the country.”

Kinsmen Memorial Stadium in Oshawa will be the host diamond of the championship, featuring the national title game which will take place on Sunday afternoon. Kirky Field in Pickering will also be a host diamond for a number of the games throughout the event. A full schedule with game times/locations will be released leading up to the event.

The format of the championship will include all six teams competing in a three-game round robin format. The top four teams will advance to the playoff round which will feature two semi-final match ups and the national title game.

Durham College will earn an automatic berth as host of the championship, which will extend their streak to five straight National Championship appearances, six overall.

The University of New Brunswick Cougars (UNB) enter the year as defending two-time CIBA champions. Last year, the Cougars defeated McGill University 5-3 in the gold medal game.

For more information or sponsorship opportunities for the 2009 CIBA National Championship, please contact Scott Dennis at (905) 721-2000 Ext. 2784 or


2008 - UNB Cougars
2007 - UNB Cougars
2006 - McGill Redbirds
2005 - CBU Capers
2004 - Queen's Golden Gaels
2003 - UNB Cougars
2002 - Laval Rouge et Or
2001 - Laval Rouge et Or
2000 - Laval Rouge et Or
1999 - Brock Badgers
1998 - Brock Badgers
1997 - McMaster Marauders
1996 - Dalhousie Tigers
1995 - Laval Rouge et Or