(613) 748-5606



World Baseball Classic Media Credential Application Deadline is Friday, February 20th

OTTAWA - Media credential applications for the North American portion of the 2009 World Baseball Classic are available online at  All applications must be submitted online by Friday, February 20th.  Applications will not be accepted after the deadline.

The World Baseball Classic, a 16-team tournament sanctioned by the International Baseball Federation(IBAF) will feature many of the best players in the world competing for their home countries and territories.  The 16 teams invited to participate in the event have been divided into four pools of four teams for the first round of play.

The four Round One pools are scheduled to be played in Tokyo, Japan; San Juan, Puerto Rico; Toronto, Canada and Mexico City, Mexico.  Round Two will feature two pools of four teams each and is scheduled to be played in Miami, Florida and San Diego, California.  The Semi-Finals and Final will be played at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles.

Pool A (Tokyo)    Pool B (Mexico City)      Pool C (Toronto)              Pool D (San Juan)

China                       Australia                              Canada                           Dominican Republic
Chinese Taipei     Cuba                                      Italy                                  Netherlands
Japan                      Mexico                                   USA                                  Panama
Korea                      South Africa                          Venezuela                       Puerto Rico

About the World Baseball Classic

The World Baseball Classic is the premier international baseball tournament, sanctioned by the International Baseball Federation, and features the best players in the world competing for their home countries and territories. In March 2006, 486 players – 235 of them from MLB organizations – representing 16 teams from across the globe competed in the inaugural event. More than 740,000 fans from 48 states and 15 countries attended games – 16 of which sold out – and millions more watched on TV as Team Japan was crowned the first-ever World Baseball Classic Champion. Broadcast by 48 media outlets in 10 languages to 205 countries and territories around the world, the inaugural tournament had 50 official sponsors and 21 official licensees. Media members representing 25 different nations attended the 39 games in seven host venues across three countries/territories. The next tournament will be held in March 2009 and will again feature 16 of the greatest baseball-playing nations in the world. The tournament will be held every four years thereafter, with plans in place to expand the participant field beginning in 2013.