(613) 748-5606



Axford and Votto share Tip O

OTTAWA-For only the third time in history, there is a tie for the Tip O’Neill Award, given out annually by the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame to the ‘player judged to have excelled in individual achievement and team contribution while adhering to baseball’s highest ideals’.

Joey Votto (Etobicoke, ON) of the Cincinnati Reds and John Axford (Port Dover, ON) of the Milwaukee Brewers will split the award.

Votto won the Tip O’Neill in 2010 along with capturing National League MVP honours after an outstanding season for the Cincinnati Reds. In 2011, Votto followed up his MVP season by hitting .309 with 29 homeruns and 103 RBI, while also participating in the All-Star game and winning a Gold Glove at first base.

Axford solidified himself as the full time closer for the Milwaukee Brewers with 24 saves in 2010 and improved on that total with 46 in 2011. Axford had a run of 43 consecutive saves during the season which helped propel the Brewers into the post-season.

Please click on the following link to read the official press release from the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame.