(613) 748-5606



Balazovic named to Futures Game

OTTAWA- Canadians Jordan Balazovic of Mississauga has been named to the American League roster for the annual SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game, which will be played on Sunday, July 7th (7pm ET) at Progressive Field in Cleveland as part of Major League Baseball’s All-Star weekend.

MLB Network will exclusively televise and will live stream the SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game.

Balazovic, 20, was one of 25 players named to the American League squad while 25 players were named to the National League squad as the contest, in its 21st year, shifts from a World vs US format to an American vs National League format for the first time.

Selected by the Minnesota Twins in the fifth round of the 2016 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft, Balazovic is currently a member of High-A Fort Myers where he has a 4-1 win/loss record and 2.63 earned run average with 54 strikeouts over 41 innings pitched.

The right-handed pitcher was promoted to High-A after opening the season with Single–A Cedar Rapids where he pitched to the tune of a 2.18 ERA and 33 strikeouts in 20 and two-thirds innings pitched.

A graduate of the Junior National Team program, it has been a big week for Balazovic who cracked MLBPipeline’s Top 100 prospects list while also being named to Canada’s national team roster that will compete at the Pan Am Games next month in Lima, Peru.

All-time Canadian Futures Game participants:

Futures Game Participants (1999-2019)

Name                          Year(s)           Team

Phillippe Aumont         2008   Mariners
Jordan Balazovic        2019   Twins
Erik Bedard                 2001, 2002    Orioles
Jeff Francis                 2004   Rockies
Tyson Gillies               2009   Mariners
Rich Harden               2003   A's
Shawn Hill                  2003   Expos
George Kottaras         2006   Padres
Pierre-Luc LaForest  1999   Devil Rays
Brett Lawrie               2009, 2010    Brewers
Jordan Lennerton      2013   Tigers
Kyle Lotzkar               2012   Reds
Adam Loewen            2005   Orioles
Trystan Magnuson    2010   Blue Jays
Scott Mathieson         2005   Phillies
Russell Martin           2005   Dodgers
Chris Mears               1999   Mariners
Justin Morneau         2002, 2004 Twins
Aaron Myette             1999, 2000  White Sox
Josh Naylor                2016, 2017 Marlins, Padres
Ntema Ndungidi        2000   Orioles
Tyler O'Neill               2016   Mariners
James Paxton             2011   Mariners
Dalton Pompey          2014   Blue Jays
Cal Quantrill              2017   Padres
Michael Saunders     2007   Mariners
Mike Soroka               2017   Braves
Scott Thorman           2003   Braves
Rene Tosoni               2009   Twins
Phillippe Valiquette  2010   Reds
Jimmy Van Ostrand  2007   Astros
Joey Votto                   2006, 2007 Reds
Nick Weglarz              2009   Indians

*2015 & 2018 - no representative