(613) 748-5606



Randy Crouse wins Baseball Canada Volunteer of the Year Award

The Baseball Canada Volunteer of the Year Award was created in 2001 to recognize the contribution of the most dedicated, enthusiastic person who has devoted at least ten years of volunteering within their provincial association. 

Humble, hardworking, and dedicated are some of the many qualities that Randy Crouse has come to be known by in his hometown of Antigonish, his home province of Nova Scotia and across Canada for those that are fortunate enough to have worked with him over the years.

A volunteer who represents everything that Baseball Canada’s Volunteer of the Year Award is all about, we are beyond honoured to name Randy Crouse as the recipient of this prestigious award for 2021.

Through his work as National Coordinator for Challenger Baseball Canada, Crouse has worked tirelessly to grow and promote the program that gives children with physical and/or cognitive disabilities a baseball experience like no other. 

He’s been a tremendous resource for many associations across the country who have implemented Challenger Baseball programs into their communities adding to the growing number of programs in Canada every year.

He is a key figure in the Baseball Canada, Little League Canada and Jays Care Foundation partnership that works to deliver Challenger Baseball to as many children and families as possible each year.

At the provincial and local levels Crouse has proven to be an “elite fundraiser” in his efforts to raise dollars to improve all aspects of Challenger Baseball in his community with the crown jewel coming in 2019 when a fully accessible field known as “The Sandlot” was opened in Antigonish.

The Challenger program in Antigonish that Crouse spearheaded is looked at as a model program for others across the country with a strong volunteer base including members of his own family along with several community members.

Earlier this year, Crouse was named the Volunteer of the Year for the Municipality of the County of Antigonish so we are thrilled to bestow Randy with another deserving award.

Volunteer of the Year recipients have included:

2020-Anne Hayes (BC)
2019-Kevin McKenna (PEI)
2018-Diane Wakefield (ON)
2017-Louis Côté (MB)
2016-David Doherty (ON)
2015-Serge Gauthier (QC)
2014- Alex Grenier(MB)
2013 – Charlie Meacher (SK)
2012 – Gary Trudell (BC)
2011 - Wade Karcha (SK)
2010 – Carl Linden (AB)
2009 – Holly Lapierre (NS)
2008 – Geoff Hughes (SK)
2007 – Paul Riopel (AB)
2006 – Ollie Schroeder (MB)
2005 – Joe McDonald ( SK)
2004 – Joe Wiwchar (MB)
2003 – Dave Shury ( SK)
2002 – Jean-Marc Paradis (QC)
2001 – Tom Lawson (ON)