(613) 748-5606



Schedule for 2008 Women’s Baseball World Cup Released

OTTAWA, ON – The International Baseball Federation announced the schedule for the 2008 Women’s Baseball World Cup which will take place in Matsuyama, Japan from August 24th to 29th.

The Canadian women will join Japan, Hong Kong and Korea to form Group B in the tournament.  Group A will consist of the United States, Australia, Chinese Taipei and India.

Canada’s preliminary schedule is as follows:

  • August 24, 12:30 pm – Canada vs. Hong Kong
  • August 25, 7:00 pm – Canada vs. Japan
  • August 26, 12:30 pm – Canada vs. Korea

The preliminary round will be followed by a second preliminary round on August 27th and 28th.  The top two teams from each group will play two games, one against each team of the other group.  The second preliminary round will decide the medal matchups.

The medal games will take place on August 29th, starting with the Bronze Medal Game at 2:30 pm followed by the Gold Medal Game at 6:30 pm.

This will be the third edition of the Women’s World Cup, which occur every two years.  The first two installments in 2004 and 2006, Canada won the bronze medal.

For the complete schedule of the tournament, click here.