(613) 748-5606



Baseball Canada Announces New Executive and Board

TORONTO, ON - Baseball Canada elected its new executive and board of directors at its annual general meeting June 6-7.

The three-member executive that will serve a two-year term for Baseball Canada consists of three incumbent members.

Ray Carter will return as president, being acclaimed in this year's election. Carter has served the association in his current capacity since 2000.

“I’m honoured to lead Baseball Canada and that the people here have continued faith in me for the last 10 years,” says Carter after his acclamation.

Vice-president Linda Lewis was also re-elected without opposition and will continue a role she has served since 2002.

“I feel great to get that support from the board,” explained Lewis.  “We still have a lot of things to get started, Ray and I and the treasurer that we would really want to see through.”

Al Fitzsimmons, treasurer since June 2007, was also acclaimed in this year’s election.

The 10-member board of directors comprising one representative from each province was elected as follows:

Alberta: Carl Linden
British Columbia: John Berry
Manitoba: Ken Sharpe
New Brunswick: David Watling
Newfoundland: Tom Devine
Nova Scotia: Jody Frowley
Ontario: Don McKnight
Prince Edward Island: Don LeClaire
Quebec: Benoit Lavigne
Saskatchewan: Larry Orth

Updates and reports were also shared by various organization committees, including high performance, coaching, umpires, championships and sport development.

One contentious issue during this year’s meetings was the implementation of the participant fee.  There were several strides made, but there is still work to be done and Baseball Canada’s President sees a light at the end of the tunnel.

“We need to set up the participation fee structure so that everyone can settle down and focus on the business of baseball,” says Carter.

The next Baseball Canada general assembly will take place at this fall's convention November 13-16, which will once again be in Toronto.